Rusty's World

Rusty’s Comic of the Week: Swamp Thing #25 | November 14, 2013

265px-Swamp_Thing_Vol_5-25_Cover-1_Teaser

This actually for last week as I was away at the Canadian Festival of Spoken Word so didn’t get my comics until I got back.

It wasn’t a great week, honestly. Some okay books, but not very many.

MARVEL KNIGHTS: SPIDER-MAN #2 (Matt Kindt / Marco Rudy / Val Staples) Marvel

What can I say about this comic? It was better than issue #1. That is something, I guess.

I CAN say that after Suicide Squad and this, Matt Kindt is not rating very high on my preferred writers list.

THE MOVEMENT #6 (Gail Simone / Freddie Williams II) DC

So far I like the IDEA of this book more than the book itself. The art hurts it, but the biggest problem is that it seems to meander. It is character-based more than plot-based, which definitely an work but… we’ll see. It isn’t in danger of me dropping it yet.

TRILLIUM #4 (Jeff Lemire) Vertigo

Now HERE is an example of a book that is really hurt by its art. Jeff Lemire is a very good writer, but his art is distracting from the story. It really hurts my enthusiasm for the book.

MIGHTY AVENGERS #3 (Ewing / Land / Leisten / D’Armata) Marvel

There have been places where I have spoken out against Blue Marvel. I am not a fan of incredibly over-powered character. I hated the Sentry, for example. Having said that, Adam sure worked in this issue. In fact, they ALL worked well in this issue. Luke’s speech at the end was a perfect capstone. This very well could be the Avengers book that succeeds where the others are generally failing… making you care about the characters. Oh, and the identity of Spider Hero has been spoiled… I won’t reveal it here but… interesting. I sure didn’t guess it, and I am not sure of I like it. Could be worse, that’s for sure.

AMAZING X-MEN #1 (Jason Aaron / Ed McGuiness) Marvel

Another entertaining X-Book? It seems that the X-books are the place to be now that Marvel has done so much damage to the Avengers franchise. This book is just fun – straight up. The sexual innuendo between Wolverine and Storm didn’t really work, but the rest was top-notch. You can pretty much buy any marvel book with X in the title without going wrong. (Well, maybe not that Wolverine & the X-Men one…)

SWAMP THING #25 (Charles Soule / Jesus Saiz) DC

Swamp Thing vs Seeder for the right to be the avatar of the Green! What could be better?

This was a great issue with an interesting fight (not much of a punch ’em up, but why would it be?), interesting philosophical dilemmas and a surprise ending!

Good comic!

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

