Rusty's World

Rusty’s Reading List 2017 | June 18, 2017

shayne

First off, I don’t  have a scan of the cover so I nabbed this from the internet. Photo credit: Ron Pogue.

I got this chapbook a while ago… I am pretty sure it was a gift from Shayne… and I have read some of it, but now I have done a cover to cover. First off, I didn’t realize it before but Ruthanne & I are thanked in it! Well, hey! Thanks Shayne!
He says he wrote it while touring with Johnny Macrae and they stayed with us when they were in Ottawa.

All that aside, it is a good chapbook! It is funny the phases Shayne has gone through since I have known him. We met in Halifax in 2007 and somewhere after that he went on a hitch-hiking tour as part of Ghosts of the Highway (their album is still in my rotation). Then he and Johnny became 2 Dope Boys in a Cadillac, embracing that west coast weird that we love so well. Now he is one of the creative minds behind oratorealis, one of the best poetry magazines going! (And I am not just saying that because when the 4th issue come out they will have published me three times. I have integrity!)

Shayne is a great person, a great poet, and I am happy to call him friend.

 

 

Books read in 2017

The Anthropocalypse is Nigh… – Shayne Avec I Grec
The Associate – Phillip Margolin
Peter F. Yacht Club #25
Forth-seventh birthday – rob mclennan
Li’l Bastard – David McGimpsey
Love is a Tree you Planted – Mary Pinkoski
oratorealis #3
Muybridge’s Horses – Rob Winger
Trouble Boys – The True Story of the Replacements – Bob Mehr
A Magical Mystery Tour – Inside the Coach House Press
Arc Poetry Magazine #80
Dancing Alone – William Hawkins
Peter F. Yacht Club #24
Canticles I (MMXVI) – George Elliott Clarke
Touch the Donkey #9
Touch the Donkey #12
Arc Poetry Magazine #81
The Emperor of Water Clocks – Yusef Komunakaa
Warhorses – Yusef Komunyakaa
The Mosquito Coast – Paul Theroux
Guff Ink – Wes Ryan
Hurting God – Rita Ann Higgins

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

